Header Ads

  • How and why La Liga teams dominate UEFA Champions League

    The Uefa Champions league is one of the most popular football competition in the world.

     It is played by European football clubs , there are so many football club in Europe but not all of them are qualified to take part in this competition.

    Only domestic league winners are qualified to take part in this competition , but top four league in Europe (La Liga,Premier League,Bundesliga and Serie A ) provide four representative each while French Ligue 1 provide three representative , lower rank league such as Portuguese premiera liga ,Netherlands Eredivisie and Russian premier league provide two representative each.

    Uefa champions has been won mostly by Spanish club, they are the most successful in this competition, they've won it on 17 occasion more than any other league in Europe.

    Real madrid and Barcelona have been the powerhouse of European Champions league for years with the former winning the competition for a record 13 times .

    Real Madrid first won it in the inaugural competition back in  1956 against Fiorentina at the Barnebeu as they went on to make it 5 times in a row, they also won in 1966,1998,2000,2002 and 2014.

    In 2016, Real Madrid continue their dominance under Zinedine Zidane  as they make it 3 in a row (2016,2017,2018) which make it 13 title.

    Barcelona is one of the best team in the world , they've won the competition on 5 occasion , first come in 1991-1992 season where they took on Sampdoria at Wembley ,the ran out with a 1-0 victory .

    They won it again in the 2015/2016 season against Arsenal by 2-1, after the appointment of Pep Guardiola in 2008, they reach the semi-final only to lose to Manchester United who went on to win the trophy , the following season Guardiola was able to guide them to their third title and fourth two years later.

    In 2015 season ,Barcelona fifth title came in a fantastic fashion under the guidance of Luis Enrique , winning by 3-1 against Juventus in Berlin. 

    In the past 10 years, La Liga teams have won the Uefa champions league on 7 occasion

    Spanish League clubs are able to dominate Uefa Champions league because of the quality of their league and quality of the players plying their trade in the league.

    La Liga is known for playing attacking football and keeping position (tiki taka) and they also boost a number of world top stars, that is why they are considered as the best league in the world 

    Fixture accumulation always hampered Premier league club chance of going far in the competition, playing in 3 different domestic competition (Premier league , The FA Cup and Capital One Cup) means they play every three days which is not easy for the players to recover in time whereas in Spain ,they only play two domestic competition (La Liga and Copa Del Rey )
    Germany only have 2 domestic competition (Bundesliga and DFB cup) and Italy have two domestic competition (Serie A and Coppa Itallia ) but they fail to make the mark due to the quality of their respective leagues.

    No comments

    2020 Miles Morland Foundation Scholarship

    2020 Miles Morland Foundation Scholarship for Africans:  Applications are hereby requested to apply for the Miles Morland Foundation ...

    Post Top Ad

    Post Bottom Ad